Eric Betzig

Physicist and neuroscientist based at the Janelia Research Campus. Awarded the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for “the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy”.

Eric Betzig develops novel optical imaging tools in an effort to open new windows into molecular, cellular, and neurobiology. Betzig is focusing on improvements in five areas: Spatial Resolution, Temporal Resolution, Labeling Technology, Deep-Tissue Imaging, and Noninvasive, Data-Rich Imaging.

2014 Chemistry Nobel Prize

“The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014 was awarded jointly to Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner “for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy”.

For a long time optical microscopy was held back by a presumed limitation: that it would never obtain a better resolution than half the wavelength of light. Helped by fluorescent molecules the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry 2014 ingeniously circumvented this limitation. “Their ground-breaking work has brought optical microscopy into the nanodimension”, Nobel committee……

Cori Bargmann

Neurobiologist based at Rockefeler University is known for her work on the behavior in the C. elegans, particularly olfaction in the worm.

Cori Bargmann was awarded the Kavli Prizein 2012 and the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences in 2013. Bargmann is Torsten N. Wiesel Professor at Rockefeller University and head of the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior.

Bargmann is the co-chair of the BRAIN Initiative Advisory Committee to the NIH Director (ACD)

Skip to toolbar